NC State nuclear engineering students win American Nuclear Society scholarships

Congratulations to the following student recipients of the 2024-25 undergraduate and graduate scholarships from the American Nuclear Society (ANS). The total number of awards received by NC State nuclear engineering students were 15.

Diversity and Inclusion/NEED

Nontraditional Student Scholarship: Nestor G. Rodriguez-Flores

John and Muriel Landis Scholarship: Lauren Kohler

Undergraduate Scholarships

ANS Incoming Freshman: Jaden Auten, Bradley Maher

ANS Undergraduate (Sophomore): Cecilia Harrison

ANS Undergraduate (Junior/Senior): Sofiia Asadchykh, Eirena Klemes, Pavel Simeonov, Amy Whitley

Joseph Naser Human Factors, I&C Division (HFICD) Undergraduate Scholarship: Jason Clifford

Accelerator Applications Division Scholarship: Jacob Martin

Graduate Scholarships

ANS Graduate: Davis Bryars, Lucia Rebeca Gomez Hurtado, William Graham V, Alina Jugan

Robert A. Dannels Memorial Scholarship: Lauren Kohler

Ely M. Gelbard Graduate Scholarship: Grayson Gall

The ANS Scholarship Policy and Coordination Committee, Divisions, and Local Sections administer the 2024-2025 scholarship selections. This year ANS awarded $244,000 to 91 recipients. The ANS is the premier organization for those that embrace the nuclear sciences and technologies for their vital contributions to improving people’s lives and preserving the planet.

ANS membership is open to all and consists of individuals from all walks of life, including engineers, doctors, students, educators, scientists, soldiers, advocates, government employees, and others. Celebrating its 70th anniversary in 2024, ANS is committed to advancing, fostering, and promoting the development and application of nuclear sciences and technologies to benefit society.