First row: Asadehykh, Clifford, Martin, Perry Second row: Simeonov, Whitley, Bevans, Kohler

NC State nuclear engineering students awarded US Department of Energy scholarships and fellowships

Congratulations to NC State nuclear engineering students on winning these prestigious awards from the US Department of Energy (DOE) University Nuclear Leadership Program (UNLP). They include –

Undergraduate scholarships recipients include –

  • Sofia Asadchykh (junior)
  • Jason Clifford (senior)
  • Jacob Martin (junior)
  • Ryan Perry (senior)
  • Pavel Simeonov (senior)
  • Amy Whitley (junior)

Graduate fellowship recipients include –

  • Zachary Bevans, PhD student under the advisement of Drs. Ge Yang and Scott Palmtag
  • Lauren Kohler is an incoming PhD student under the advisement of Dr Xu Wu

Through the University Nuclear Leadership Program, the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) awarded more than $5 million in undergraduate scholarships and graduate fellowships to students pursuing nuclear engineering degrees and other nuclear science and engineering programs relevant to nuclear energy. The awards include 59 scholarships at 4-year institutions, 1 scholarship at a 2-year institution, and 28 fellowships for students at U.S. colleges and universities. Through this program, undergraduates at 4-year institutions will receive a $10,000 and undergraduates at 2-year institutions will receive $5,000 to help cover education costs for the upcoming year, while the three-year graduate fellowship provides $52,000 each year to help pay for graduate studies and research. Fellowships also include $5,000 to fund an internship at a U.S. national laboratory or other approved research facility to strengthen the ties between students and DOE’s energy research programs.

Since 2009, DOE has awarded close to 929 scholarships and fellowships totaling approximately $55 million to students pursuing nuclear energy-related degrees.