NC State nuclear engineering selects the 2024-25 Icenhour, Kalaprapurna & Duke Energy scholarships

Six undergraduate students are recipients of NC State Nuclear Engineering departmental scholarships. They include,

Alan and Teresa Icenhour Scholarship in Nuclear Engineering Endowment

Dr. Alan Icenhour is an alumnus of NC State Nuclear Engineering (BS ‘86). He is a fellow of the American Nuclear Society,  an NC State Distinguished Engineering Alumnus, an inductee of the NC State Nuclear Engineering Wall of Fame, and retired Deputy Laboratory Director and Chief Operating Officer at the Oak Ridge National Laboratory. He currently serves as Chair of the NC State Nuclear Engineering Department Advisory Committee (NEDAC). Teresa Icenhour is also an alumnus of NC State (BS ’86, Food Science).  She is a retired preschool teacher and is active as a community volunteer.

Inaugural recipients include –

  • Sawyer Goodwin (junior)
  • Israel Tijero (junior)

Kalaprapurna Dr. K. Subbaraju & K. Subhadramma Memorial Scholarship

Progress Energy Distinguished Professor Dr. K. Linga (KL) Murty and his wife, Ratnaveni, established a $25,000 endowed scholarship in 2018. The scholarship awards undergraduate student(s) in pursuit of a nuclear engineering degree. The scholarship is in memory of his parents; ‘Kalaprapurna’, meaning ‘Arts Full’ or ‘Arts Complete’.

  • Evan Xavier (junior)

Duke Energy Scholarships in Nuclear Engineering

In support of the study of nuclear science and technology and students joining the nuclear energy sector, 3-4 scholarships have been award for over 20+ years. Duke Energy operates 11 nuclear units at 6 sites in North and South Carolina.

  • Cecilia Harrison (sophomore)
  • Oliver Maynard (sophomore)
  • Eirena Kleemes (senior)